Discussions
  • How do I hide/delete a discussion?
    To hide a discussion and no longer receive any notifications about new comments to any post, topic or photo, go to the discussion and click the X icon on the left panel next to the name of the discussion. Please note that you cannot leave the discussion of your own photo, post, etc. To stop a discussion of your own content, delete the source of the discussion. If you change your mind, you will always be able to re-join the discussion. Learn how to do this here.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • How do I delete comments left on my photo/post/status?
    It's really simple to delete comments left on your photos:
    1. Go to the ""Discussions"" section
    2. Go to the ""My"" tab
    3. Open the discussion you need and move the pointer over the unwanted comment
    4. Click the X that appears next to the time that the comment was added;
    5. Confirm your selection by clicking ""Delete""
    All done! All unwanted comments are deleted. How to do this on the mobile version of the website
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • Can I edit a message or a comment?
    You can easily make changes to your message or comment:
    • Hover your mouse over the desired message or comment;
    • Click the pencil icon in the top right corner of the message;
    • Make changes in the text field;
    • Click "Send" (envelope icon).
    Please note: your messages and comments can only be edited for a short while after they were initially sent. You can't edit a message you sent the day before.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 29.12.2015
  • What should I do if the discussions contain offensive language?
    Verbal abuse and spam have no place on our website. We are here for friendly conversations and having a good time. If you find offensive language in the discussions, do not hesitate to report this user. It's very simple:
    1. Hover your mouse over the offensive comment
    2. Click the gray triangle that appears to the right of the message
    3. In the window that appears, click ""Report""
    All done! If you don't see the user blocked right away, don't worry. We have a special system in place for counteracting violators. It is very complex and we keep it a secret so that violators don't learn how it works. Rest assured that all complaints are carefully processed and no offender goes unpunished. Also, you can always blacklist an unsavory user. They won't be able to send you messages, discuss your content, view your profile or send you gifts anymore. Learn how to do this here.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • How do I delete the discussion of my photo/post/status/song?
    Unfortunately, the only way to delete all comments to your content forever is to completely delete the event being discussed. This means that if you don't like the discussion of your photo, you have to delete this photo. However, if someone's comments bother you, just blacklist this user and he/she will not be able to view or comment on your info anymore. And you can learn how to do this here. You can also delete all unwanted comments separately. Learn how to do this here.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • Where are all my discussions?
    Don't worry! In most cases you can easily fix this issue. Do the following:
    1. Refresh the page by pressing Ctrl+F5 on your keyboard
    2. Make sure you have the latest version of Adobe Flash Player installed. You can download it here
    3. Clear your browser's temporary data (cache). Learn how to do this here
    4. Upgrade your browser to the latest version or try another browser:
    All done! After you do this and open your discussions again, everything will be OK!
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • A discussion is missing. What should I do?
    A discussion may be missing for several reasons:
    • If the discussed content (post, photo, video, topic, etc.) has been deleted
    • If you have hidden this discussion. In this case, it's very easy to restore it: just find the post, photo, topic or video you have discussed and click ""Comment"".
    • If the discussed content has been blocked by the Administration for some reason.
    It is impossible to know for sure where the discussion went. All possible reasons are listed above and you may quickly guess what has happened to the discussion.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • Comments are missing from a discussion. Why?
    It's really simple:
    • the discussion owner, i.e. the user who has uploaded the discussed content or a group moderator, has deleted the comments. In this case, it can't be helped, as it is the wish of the content's author
    • Also, the comments may have been deleted automatically due to a number of reports on them or the user who left them. We are sorry, but these comments cannot be restored since OK thoroughly keeps order on the website and doesn't allow it to be broken
    • Or the website's Administration has blocked bad comments due to violation of the rules. And again, they cannot be restored. Rules are rules
    In any case, the missing comments cannot be restored. The only exception is if the author of the comment has been temporarily blocked (and all his/her information has been ""hidden"" from the website). If the user restores his/her profile, it will resume its natural course and the comments will appear again.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • How do I prevent my photos/posts/statuses/etc. from being discussed?
    Only group administrators or moderators on the website can prevent specific topics from being commented on. However, there is a way out:
    1. in ""Privacy settings"", you can prevent people who are not your friends from leaving comments in the ""Personal photos"" album. Just check the ""Only friends"" box next to the ""Comment on my personal photos"" line. Please note that this setting is applicable to one album only, which is called ""Personal photos"". But you can just upload the photos here that are not to be discussed with other people, and everything will be OK!
    2. Here you can also prevent your Forum entries from being commented on
    3. In ""Privacy settings"", you can make your photo albums and videos available only to your friends or certain categories of friends as well. Then only a restricted number of people will be able to view and comment on them.
    4. Finally, you can blacklist unwanted users, and they won't be able to view or comment on your information.
    This is how you can restrict the discussion of your photos, posts or videos by making some changes to the settings.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • How do I restore a discussion?
    There is only one way to restore a hidden discussion: find the photo, post, topic or video you have discussed and click "Comment". Please note that if the content has been deleted, nothing can be done. All comments on it are deleted as well.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • The discussions don't work properly (don't open, freeze up, take a long time to load). What should I do?
    Don't worry! Below is the list of steps you need to take to make your discussions work properly again. First, do the following:
    1. Refresh the page by pressing Ctrl+F5 on your keyboard
    2. Make sure you have the latest version of Adobe Flash Player installed. You can download it here
    3. Clear your browser's temporary data (cache). Learn how to do this here
    4. Upgrade your browser to the latest version or try another browser:
    All done! Comment and respond to your friends' comments like before!
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 28.05.2017
  • How do I leave a comment on a friend's picture?
    To comment on a friend's picture in the News Feed:
    1. click "Comment" under that friend's picture;
    2. write your comment;
    3. press Enter on your keyboard or click the cloud icon to the right of the text input field to leave your comment.
    You can see all your friends' events that have been commented on in the "Discussions" section.
    Was this info helpful? Yes • No
    Thank you for your answer!
    Article updated on 29.12.2015
Didn't find the answer you were looking for?